2019 Elections

Election Information

IAAO members in good standing will be able to vote electronically from November 1-15, 2019. On November 1, Regular Members will receive an email from Intelliscan, Inc. with a personalized voting link. Regular Members who have do not receive this ballot by November 4 should contact Intelliscan

In 2019, Regular Members will vote for the 2020 President-Elect, Vice President, and an At-Large regular member in each of three regions.   There is no Associate Member election in 2019. 

Candidates Certified

The following candidates were unanimously approved by the Nominating Committee on July 22, 2019 and will be on the ballot in November. Additional information on the candidates is available through the candidate sites below.

Greg McHenry, AAS 

Vice President  
L. Wade Patterson

Region 1
Dinah L. Kilgore
Deborah Nielsen

Region 2
William Healey, RES
Samantha Steele

Region 3
G. Cecil Jackson, Jr., RES, AAS
Don Long
David Brian Sanford, CAE

Special Note

Per IAAO Procedural Rule the election voting regions were updated in 2017 to allocate members equally among the three regions. A limited number of changes were made and members are encouraged to review the regions to note the new alignment. Regions are reviewed every five years, with the next review scheduled for 2022.


The Nominating Committee reviewed all candidate applications. Candidates were notified on or before August 1st as to whether their name would appear on the slate. The slate was formally announced at the 85th Annual Conference, September 8-1, 2019, in Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada. Profiles for all candidates on the slate are made available online and in Fair + Equitable magazine.

General Election Items

Questions can be directed here.

Important Dates

Monday, July 1, 2019

Candidate questionnaires must be completed and submitted to the Executive Director for distribution to the Nominating Committee. Candidate profile forms and photographs must be submitted to the Executive Director for inclusion with the official ballots.

Prior to August 1, 2019

Nominating Committee Meeting to plan for any needed candidate interviews. Nominating Committee conducts any needed candidate interviews via telephone prior to the annual conference.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Slate of candidates nominated is certified by the Nominating Committee Chair to the Executive Director by August 15. The Executive Director shall post the list of candidates on the website immediately following certification and notification to the candidates. The Executive Director shall publicize the names of the members nominated in an IAAO publication as soon as possible.

Monday, September 16, 2019

Individuals wishing to be nominated by petition must submit completed petitions to the Executive Director within five (5) days of the end of annual conference.

November 1 - 15, 2019

Election in progress. Email ballot shall be sent to all Regular Members on November 1.

10 Days Following Notification

Candidates wishing to challenge election results must transmit challenges, in writing, to the Executive Director no later than 10 working days following notification of election results.

Saturday, December 7, 2019

Election campaign reports must be filed with the Executive Director.

After December 31, 2019

Election results shall be certified at the first Board of Directors Meeting following the December 31 challenge deadline or the first meeting after any challenge is resolved. The vote to destroy the ballots occurs.