Designation Recertification

IAAO designees are expected to continue professional growth and competence by participating in educational events. Facilitating this expectation, the IAAO Recertification Program provides a structured process to keep a designation in good standing. The following information outlines the program and its requirements.

Recertification Requirements

  • Cycle Time Frame

    Recertification cycles begin on January 1st, and continue for five consecutive years ending on December 31st, e.g. 1/1/2011 – 12/31/2015.

    For a candidate that has just achieved a designation, the recertification cycle begins on January 1st of the year following the date the designation is conferred.

  • Credit Hours

    All designees must complete at least 70 credit hours of structured educational programs pertaining to appraising, assessment, cadastral mapping, or assessment administration during each recertification cycle, including the required hours listed below. Recertification credits may also be obtained for instructing educational programs*, having original articles published, or other activities as approved by the IAAO Professional Development Department.

    *For cycles beginning January 1, 2018 and after, the maximum hours allowed during one cycle for instructing is 35 hours. (USPAP instruction applied towards the USPAP requirement does not count towards this limit.)

  • USPAP/Appraisal Standards Continuing Education

    Designees (with the exception of the CMS designation) are required to complete a minimum of two National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) courses from different USPAP education cycles; USPAP cycles run bi-annually. The 7-Hour National USPAP Update courses are preferred, but the 15-Hour National USPAP courses (with or without exam) are acceptable for one or both instances during the cycle. USPAP credit hours are included in the 70 credit hour requirement.

    *For cycles beginning January 1, 2017 and after, designees practicing solely outside of the United States must comply with the USPAP requirement or supply proof of compliance with a local standards regime, such as CUSPAP for Canadian designees, in lieu of USPAP. This applies only to recertification cycles with a start date of 2017 and after.

  • IAAO Workshop 171

    All designees are required to complete IAAO Workshop 171 during their five-year cycle.

  • Credit Hour Tracking & Submission

    Credit hours can be submitted at any time during your cycle for review. The Continuing Education Log is the approved form to enter and track hours. 

  • Note: if you already started a log, do not use this link to start a new one. The link to access your log is provided in the confirmation email you received upon submission. Contact us if you are unable to locate it.

    Log forms are reviewed based on recertification year, with those presently recertifying taking priority. While hours may be submitted at any time, one can only recertify during the final year of one's cycle; early recertification is not allowed.
  • More Information

    Please see IAAO Procedural Rules for specific requirements for recertification.

    To see more commonly asked questions and answers visit our Designation FAQ.

    Still have questions? Contact us via e-mail.

Recertification Forms


Information on Completing the Continuing Education Log Form
This information sheet explains how designees should use the log form to track and submit continuing education credits.

Continuing Education Log
Designees track and submit their continuing education hours using this online log. Note, if you already started a log, the link to access it is provided in the confirmation email you received upon submission.

Recertification Extension Application
This is the form a designee must complete to request a one-year recertification extension.  An extension fee applies.

Content provided for informational purposes only. IAAO’s Designation Program is governed by 
IAAO Procedural Rules. In the event of a discrepancy, the Procedural Rules prevail.