Distinguished Assessment Jurisdiction Award

This award is presented to a national, state/provincial, regional or local assessment agency that has instituted a technical, procedural or administrative program which is an improvement over prior programs in that jurisdiction and is generally recognized as a component of a model assessment system and a contributing factor to equity in property taxation. Government assessment or revenue agencies that have implemented such a program in the two years prior to nomination with successful results are eligible for nomination. Jurisdictions of all sizes are encouraged to submit nominations.

Year Recipient Location
2023 Cook County Board of Review, District 2 Illinois
El Paso Central Appraisal District Texas
2022 Office of the Santa Fe County Assessor New Mexico
2021  Harris County Appraisal District Texas

Saint Lucie County Property Appraiser's Office Florida
2020  Property Valuation Services Corporation   Nova Scotia 
2019  Monmouth County Board of Taxation  New Jersey
  and Municipal Assessors
  Mecklenburg County Assessor's Office  North Carolina
2018 Harris County Appraisal District Texas 
  Santa Rosa County Property Appraiser's Office  Florida 
2017 Travis Central Appraisal District
Santa Rosa County Property Appraiser's Office Florida
2015 Ascension Parish Assessor's Office  Louisiana
2014 Saint Lucie County Property Appraiser's Office
  Washington State Department of Revenue
2013 Davidson County Assessor of Property Office Tennessee
2012 Dallas Central Appraisal District
2011 King County Department of Assessments Washington
  Registers Iceland Reykjavik, Iceland
2010 Beaufort County Office of the Assessor South Carolina
2009 Harris County Appraisal District Texas
2008 Dallas Central Appraisal District Texas
2007 Boulder County Assessor's Office Colorado
  The District of Columbia, Real Property Assessment Division District of Columbia
2006 Thurston County Assessor's Office Washington
2005 Saint Lucie County (Local Jurisdiction) Florida
  State of Tennessee, Comptroller of the Treasury (Statewide Jurisdiction) Tennessee
2004 Municipal Property Assessment Corporation Ontario, Canada
2003 Comptroller of the Treasury, State of Tennessee Tennessee
  State Enterprise Center of Registers Lithuania
2002 Green County Assessor’s Office Missouri
  Hennepin County and Dakota County Assessor’s Office Minnesota
2001 BC Assessment British Columbia, Canada
  Clay County Florida
  Clark County Department of Assessment and GIS Washington
2000 Johnson County Kansas
1999 Jefferson County Kansas
  King County Washington
1998 Brevard County Florida
  State of Kansas, Property Valuation Division Kansas
  Mississippi State Tax Commission, Property Tax Bureau & the Center for Governmental Technology, Mississippi State University Mississippi
1997 Lee County Florida
  Clark County New York
1996 Jefferson County Kansas
  Leon County Florida
  Salt Lake County Utah
1995 Exxon Corporation/Harris County Appraisal District Texas
  Orange County Florida
  Shelby County Tennessee
1994 Johnson County (Small Jurisdiction) Kansas
  Kansas Division of Property Valuation (Large Jurisdiction) Kansas
1993 County of San Mateo Assessor’s Office California
  Harris County Appraisal District Texas
  Utah State Tax Commission Utah
1992 Arkansas Assessment Coordination Division Arkansas
  Shelby County Assessor’s Office Tennessee
1991 Cook County Assessor’s Office Illinois
  Boulder County Assessor’s Office Colorado
  Kent County Equalization Department Michigan
1990 Wyoming Ad Valorem Tax Division Wyoming
1989 Waukesha County Technical College Wisconsin
  Georgia Center for Continuing Education, University of Georgia Georgia
1988 South Carolina Association of Assessing Officials South Carolina
  Cumberland County Assessor’s Office Pennsylvania
  Logan County Assessor’s Office Colorado
  Christian County Supervisor of Assessments Office Illinois
1987 Webster New York
  Ontario Ministry of Revenue Ontario, Canada
  Wyandotte County Kansas
1986 Dallas Central Appraisal District Texas
  Glynn County Tax Assessor’s Office Georgia
  Sedgwick County Appraiser’s Office Kansas
1985 State Tax Commission of Missouri Missouri
  Utah County Assessor’s Office Utah
  Boulder County Assessor’s Office Colorado
1984 British Columbia Assessment Authority British Columbia, Canada
  Hamilton County Assessors Office Tennessee
1983 Property and Special Taxes Division