Assessment Administration Specialist (AAS)

The purpose of the AAS designation is to recognize professionalism and competency in administration of a variety of functions for property tax purposes.

IAAO members may use this designation in conjunction with the administrative and tax policy matters in accordance with IAAO's commitment to excellence.


To qualify for the AAS designation, the following general requirements must first be demonstrated to be eligible to sit for the master examination:
  • The candidate must have at least three (3) years of experience in the assessment field.
  • The candidate must have credit for the following six (6) educational courses:
    1. IAAO Course 101: Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal
    2. IAAO Course 102: Income Approach to Valuation
    3. IAAO Course 400: Assessment Administration
    4. IAAO Course 402: Tax Policy
    5. IAAO Workshop 171 Standards of Professional Practices and Ethics or IAAO online Standards of Practice and Professional Ethics Supplement
    6. Residents of the United States are required to take either IAAO 151 or a Foundation-approved two-day USPAP course. Examination cannot be challenged. Residents outside the U.S. must provide proof of passage of a course covering the particular appraisal standards that govern appraisers within their jurisdiction in lieu of taking either IAAO 151 or a Foundation-approved two-day USPAP course. In the absence of a local standard, USPAP is required.
  • In addition to the above educational requirements, the candidate must have credit for an IAAO course from the 300 series.
  • Prior to sitting for any exam or submitting any report under this section a candidate must be an IAAO member and a candidate in good standing in the AAS program. The candidate must have satisfactorily completed one of the following (learn more on these options):
    1. An assessment administration case study examination
    2. An assessment administration research project
    3. An evaluation of a jurisdiction's assessment practices
    4. For projects 2 and 3, if the candidate does not successfully complete the chosen requirement after two (2) attempts, a different requirement must be selected.
  • The candidate must pass a four (4) hour AAS Master Examination. This examination can be given only after all other requirements have been met.
  • Upon successfully completing the AAS Master Examination, the candidate must submit an affidavit attesting to experience before the designation can be conferred.
  • The candidate must be a high school graduate or the equivalent.

  • For more information about the AAS Designation, please review this guide


    The Master Examination - AAS

    The written master of examinations for the AAS designation is specific to the subject. It is a test of competence, testing the candidate’s knowledge of the specific subject. Specific instructions on the form and content of the examination are provided to the candidate prior to sitting for the examination. The examination is given only after all general and specific requirements have been satisfactorily completed. An oral examination may be required at the discretion of the PDS. A candidate failing a master examination is permitted to retake it after thirty (30) days.


    Content provided for informational purposes only. IAAO’s Designation Program is governed by 
    IAAO Procedural Rules. In the event of a discrepancy, the Procedural Rules prevail.