Assessment Administration Specialist (AAS)

The purpose of the AAS designation is to recognize professionalism and competency in administration of a variety of functions for property tax purposes.

Professional designees may use this designation in conjunction with the administrative and tax policy matters in accordance with IAAO's commitment to excellence.


To qualify for the AAS designation, the following qualifications and requirements must first be demonstrated to be eligible to sit for the master examination:
  • The candidate must have at least three (3) years of experience in the assessment field.
  • The candidate must have credit for the following six (6) educational courses:
    1. IAAO Course 101: Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal
    2. IAAO Course 102: Income Approach to Valuation
    3. IAAO Course 400: Assessment Administration
    4. IAAO Course 402: Tax Policy
    5. IAAO Workshop 171 Standards of Professional Practices and Ethics
    6. Residents of the United States are required to take either IAAO 151 or a Foundation-approved two-day USPAP course. Examination cannot be challenged. Residents outside the U.S. must provide proof of passage of a course covering the particular appraisal standards that govern appraisers within their jurisdiction in lieu of taking either IAAO 151 or a Foundation-approved two-day USPAP course. In the absence of a local standard, USPAP is required.
  • In addition to the above educational requirements, the candidate must have credit for an IAAO course from the 300 series.
  • Prior to sitting for any exam or submitting any report under this section a candidate must be enrolled and in good standing in the AAS program. The candidate must have satisfactorily completed one of the following (learn more on these options):
    1. An assessment administration case study examination
    2. An assessment administration research project
    3. An evaluation of a jurisdiction's assessment practices
    4. For projects 2 and 3, if the candidate does not successfully complete the chosen requirement after two (2) attempts, a different requirement must be selected.
  • The candidate must pass a four (4) hour AAS Master Examination. This examination can be given only after all other requirements have been met.
  • Upon successfully completing the AAS Master Examination, the candidate must submit an affidavit attesting to experience before the designation can be conferred.
  • The candidate must be a high school graduate or the equivalent.

  • For more information about the AAS Designation, please review this guide

    The Case Study Examination

    The Case Study Examination on Assessment Administration is a 100 question, multiple choice exam designed to test a candidate’s proficiency in and mastery of the concepts deemed necessary for an AAS designee. Approximately half of the questions pertain directly to the information presented in the case study and require the candidate to apply knowledge and perform calculations; the other half are general appraisal questions.

    IAAO case study examinations are an intense, in-depth experience unlike other IAAO exams. Designation candidates are expected to have a mastery of the core course material and its application to real world situations.


    To prepare for this examination, it is recommended a candidate thoroughly study the demonstration problems, exercises and associated solutions, chapter reviews, quizzes, work problems, data, and information found in the basic core curriculum courses.

    An optional workshop is available to assist in studying for this examination: IAAO Workshop 852 AAS Case Study Review Workshop. Although not a substitute for studying the course materials, this workshop assists candidates in what to expect from a case study examination, including a practice exam. It WILL NOT cover any and all topics and concepts that will be covered in the exam. This workshop is offered in the classroom or the workshop materials can be purchased for self study.

    The case study exam can be taken at a location and time that is agreeable to both you and your proctor. Approved proctors are IAAO professional designees, specifically CAE and AAS designees. You can locate designees using IAAO’s Membership Directory. If necessary, other IAAO designees or arrangements, such as exam testing facilities, can be approved upon request.

    Once you have secured your proctor and agreed upon the details, you can use the Designation Examination Application form to schedule your exam session. It is recommended that your application form, along with your payment, reaches our office at least three weeks ahead of your desired exam date; two weeks is required to ensure your exam date.

    The Master Examination - AAS

    The written master examination for the AAS designation is specific to the subject. It is a test of competence, testing the candidate’s knowledge of the specific subject. Specific instructions on the form and content of the examination are provided to the candidate prior to sitting for the examination. The examination is given only after all general and specific requirements have been satisfactorily completed. An oral examination may be required at the discretion of the Professional Development Committee. A candidate failing a master examination is permitted to retake it after thirty (30) days.


    Content provided for informational purposes only. IAAO’s Designation Program is governed by 
    IAAO Procedural Rules. In the event of a discrepancy, the Procedural Rules prevail.