Maine Chapter of IAAO

The Maine State Chapter of IAAO was first established in 1978 by then Secretary Mike Austin. In honor of Mike’s memory, we offer a scholarship annually in his name, in order for a member to attend an approved continuing education training session.

We continue to maintain a healthy membership and a diverse Board of Directors. The Board meets monthly to work on projects, plan training seminars and maintain communications with colleagues. Our Chapter works closely with the state of Maine Revenue Services to provide continuing education at an advanced level, including IAAO Courses and Workshops. 

Our purpose is to educate the public on the importance of work performed by assessing officers and to improve the standards of present assessment practice; to elevate the standards of personal requirements in assessment offices; to work for justice, equity, and uniformity within the tax structure and the distribution of the same.


President Judy Mathiau
Vice President Karen Scammon
Treasurer Clint Swett
Secretary Julie Ethridge
Past President Kerry Leichtman
Director  Caitlin Anderson
Director Natalie Andrews
Phil Drew
Brent Martin
Director  Darryl McKenney