Arkansas Chapter of IAAO

The roots of the Arkansas Chapter of the International Association of Assessing Officers can be traced back to the 1985 summer meeting of the Arkansas Assessors’ Association. The Executive Board of that association passed a resolution requesting the IAAO Representative at the time, John Zimpel, to form a steering committee with the ultimate goal of forming an Arkansas Chapter of the IAAO.

On September 3rd, 1985, the petition to form an Arkansas Chapter of the IAAO, signed by 16 members was sent to the IAAO Headquarters. The petition in part read: “The purpose of this Chapter will be to advance the objectives of the IAAO in Arkansas, to raise the standards of the assessment profession, to educate the public regarding the Ad Valorem tax system, and to provide a clearing house for the collection and distribution of information beneficial to members and non-members alike.”

The Chapter has come a long way since that summer in 1985, but our purpose remains the same. The chapter now has a membership base of over 280 members. Several of the members hold IAAO Professional designations and several more are in the Professional Designation Candidacy program.

You can reach out to the Arkansas Chapter at


President Peter Hornibrook, CMS, CPM
President-Elect Jason Nichols
Past-President Jimmy Powell, CPM
Vice-President Dan Cypert, RES
Treasurer Jonathan Baker
Secretary Rita Rollins
Board Member (NW)
Tim Myatt
Board Member (NE) James Pinkston
Board Member (Central) Mike Freshour
Board Member (SW) Darla Crump
Board Member (SE) Gloria Tillman