Kansas County Appraisers' Association

The first organizational meeting of the Kansas County Appraisers' Association (KCAA) was held on January 11, 1966. King L. McDonald was elected Temporary President. An application for affiliation in the Kansas Officials Council was filed in November 1966. It was approved in November 1967. Application for affiliation in the International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO) was filed in August 1966 and approved in August 1967.

The Association is governed by an Executive Board that is elected from its membership. The Board consists of the president, president-elect, vice-president, and the immediate past president of the Kansas County Appraisers' Association and six members in good standing, one from each of the six Regional Kansas County Appraisers' Associations. A secretary/treasurer is appointed by the president and approved by the Board. The association also has an Executive Secretary to handle its daily business.

As stated in its Constitution, the objectives of the Kansas County Appraisers' Association are to improve the standards of appraisal practice; to provide a clearing house for the collection and distribution of useful information relating to appraisal practice; to educate the taxpaying public on the true nature and importance of the work performed by appraisal officers; and to engage in research and publish the results of studies; to elevate the standards of personnel requirements in appraisal offices; to elevate the other public and private agencies interested in providing tax administration; and in every proper way to promote justice and equity in the distribution of the tax burden.

The KCAA operates a not for profit corporation, known as the Institute of Certified Kansas Appraisers, Incorporated. The purpose of this corporation is to assist in the training, education, certification, and designation of Kansas ad valorem appraisal personnel. The Institute has established a Code of Ethics for its members.

The Kansas County Appraisers' Association holds its Annual Business Conference each June at various locations around the state. The Association also meets in October at Director's Update, which is hosted by the Director of the Property Valuation Division (PVD) for the Department of Revenue. The third major function is held in conjunction with the Kansas Association of Counties (KAC) annual meeting in November. New KCAA officers are installed each year at this meeting.


President Lisa Ree
Vice President Sean Robertson
Secretary/Treasurer Lori Reedy
President-Elect Steve Bauman
Past President Barb Esfeld