Institute of Iowa Certified Assessors

The certification program for Iowa Assessors began in 1965 under the auspices of the Iowa State Association of Assessors with a five member committee in charge. Andrew S. Regis, ISAA President, appointed a committee of five CAE designees from Iowa. On June 29, 1966 the first exam was given in the Wapello County Courthouse in Ottumwa, Iowa. Eight Iowa Assessors took the first exam.Because of the scope and magnitude of such a project, it soon became necessary to place the program under the jurisdiction of a separate and distinct organization. This led to the founding of the Institute of I.C.A. in 1968. Three years after conception of the I.C.A. program, the Institute of Iowa Certified Assessors was founded.


President Tim McGee
Vice President Aaron Betts
Secretary/Treasurer John Freese