IAAO Journalism Award

This award is presented to individuals or organizations in the news media who have produced an original work in the previous year which contributes to a better understanding of valuation and assessment administration and encourages high quality media coverage of assessment and property tax concerns. To be eligible for nomination, news media must be a community or metropolitan newspaper, magazine/periodical, news website, television broadcast or radio program.

Year Recipient Article/Publication
No award given   
No award given  
2015 No award given  
Ronald Hansen, Catherine Reagor, Michelle Ye Hee Lee and Rob O'Dell
"Taxation Vexation," Arizona Republic
2013 Tracy Seipel San Jose Mercury News
2012 David M. Halbfinger New York Times
2011 No award given  
2010 No award given  
2009 David Lazarus Los Angeles Times
  Eric Lewis
Times & Transcript
2008 No award given  
2007 No award given  
2006 No award given  
2005 David Brunori
"Why You Should Stop Whining and Learn to Love Property Tax"
2004 Carla Wilson
Victoria Times Colonist
2003 No award given  
2002 Mark Belko
Pittsburgh Post Gazette; Idaho Statesman