2017 IAAO Award Winners

Congratulations to all of the 2017 IAAO Award winners!

Award Name Recipient(s) Location
Bernard L. Barnard Outstanding Technical Essay
"Understanding Intangible Assets and Real Estate: A Guide for Real Property Valuation Professionals"
  IAAO Special Committee on Intangibles

  Tim Wilmath, Chair; Mark Kenney; Peter Korpacz; Mark Linné, CAE; Toni Viens; Gaylord “Jay” Wood, Jr., Esq.  
Clifford B. Allen Most Valuable Member Amy Rasmussen, RES, AAS Des Moines, IA
Distinguished Assessment Jurisdiction Travis Central Appraisal District Austin, TX
Emerging Professional Kevin Prine, RES, AAS Chesapeake, VA
(2 winners) Mark Wyers, RES, AAS Little Rock, AR
Harry Galkin Lou Newman, RES Bentonville, AR
Ian W. McClung International Jan Gieskes Wassenaar, Netherlands
Instructor of Excellence Ronald Gibbs, CAE, AAS Chino Valley, AZ
James A. Howze, CAE, Distinguished Research and Development "Spatially Accounting for Spillover Effects of Foreclosures in Automated Valuation Models to Promote Accuracy and Uniformity of Property Tax Assessments"  
  Paul Bidanset; Michael McCord, PhD; Peadar Davis, PhD  
John A. Zangerle The Michigan Assessor

  Michigan Assessor’s Association  
John C. Donehoo Essay
"Mortgage Reform Measures Support More Accurate Mass Appraisal Models for Commercial Properties"
(2 winners) Brian Clemens Decatur, GA
  "Proposed Model for Adequate Funding of Property Assessor’s Offices in Tennessee"  
  Rob Mitchell Murfreesboro, TN
Kenneth J. McCarren Tim Boncoskey Phoenix, AZ
Member of the Year Jake Parkinson Tooele, UT
Outstanding Chapter/Affiliate
Arizona Chapter of IAAO
(2 Winners)
Florida Chapter of IAAO

Professional Development Lifetime Achievement Ed Crapo, AAS Gainesville, FL
Public Information Program Fayette County Property Valuation Administration Lexington, KY
(2 Winners) Orange County Property Appraiser’s Office Orlando, FL
Rosalyn Johnston
Edye McCarthy Greenburgh, NY
Stacey Ford Tim Boncoskey Phoenix, AZ
Verne W. Pottorff, CAE, Professional Designee of the Year Tina Stone, PPS Raleigh, NC
Virginia Cup Florida

Ruston, LA
Ruston, LA