## IAAO marking 90th anniversary

uring 2024, IAAO is marking several notable anniversaries, the association's 90th anniversary and the 40th anniversary of the

## library.

IAAO was formed in 1934 when John C. Donehoo, the city assessor for St. Petersburg, Florida, gathered municipal and county assessors attending the Municipal (now Government) Finance Officers Association meeting to consider the formation of a new group that would serve to train and educate assessment professionals, work toward a more equitable assessment system, and focus on a revision of property tax legislation.

They formed the National Association of Assessing Officers (NAAO) and held their first conference in 1935 in Knoxville, with Mr. Donehoo serving as the association's first president.

The first NAAO chapter was granted to New York City in 1938.

In 1959, the name was changed to the International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO) to reflect the growth of non-U.S. members.

Educational development was a key priority during the early growth of the Association with goals to improve the professional standing of assessors, and to provide better training.

The Association's Professional Designation Program was inaugurated in 1952, conferring a Certified Assessment Evaluator (CAE) designation.

IAAO publications as an educational resource began early. In 1937, the Association was solicited by a Wisconsin assessor to distribute a report on property tax administration in Wisconsin.

The IAAO headquarters offices were in Chicago from its founding in the 1930s until 2005 when the association moved to its present location in downtown Kansas City, Missouri.

## IAAO's 9 in 90 female presidents

As part of celebrating IAAO's 90th anniversary, the association is also recognizing the nine women who have served as president.

IAAO has a long record of service and leadership by its IAAO female members, including the nine IAAO female

presidents. At its founding in 1934, **Matylda Zurowska Hudak** was one of 12 founding members and served as secretary-treasurer.



r. Hudak

In a 2018 article in F+E, it noted Matylda attended the 50th anniversary meeting of IAAO at its 1984 conference in Hollywood, Florida, as the last living signer of the original charter establishing IAAO.

Coincidentally, that was the same year that Barbara G. Brunner was serving as IAAO's first female president.

"As the last living founder, I am especially pleased to see the number of successful women in the profession — and just think — this year the new president will be Barbara G. Brunner," Hudak said in 1984.

In 2017, the IAAO Board renamed the Member of the Year Award in honor of Matylda Zurowska Hudak and the contribution of all women within the appraisal industry.

## IAAO's nine in 90 -

1985	Barbara G. Brunner
1997	Carol N. Kuehn, FIAAO
2002	Deborah Z. King, CAE
2009	Josephine Lim, Ph.D., FIAAO
2012	Debra Asbury
2014	Kim Lauffer, RES, FIAAO
2018	Dorothy Jacks AAS

- 2018 Dorothy Jacks, AAS
- 2020 Amy Rasmussen, RES, AAS, FIAAO
- 2024 Rebecca Malmquist, CAE

Barbara G. Brunner of the West Virginia State Tax Department, joined IAAO in 1973 and was elected to the IAAO Board in 1979. She became a mem-



Brunner

ber of the Executive Committee in 1983 and became IAAO's first woman president in 1985. She continued to be a member until 2002.

IAAO's fourth female president, **Josephine Lim**, Ph.D., FIAAO, joined IAAO in 1974 and served as president in 2009. She passed away earlier this vear.



Lim

She worked for BC Assessment in Canada and was the first international female president and fourth overall.

She served on the board from 2003-05, became a member of the Executive Committee in 2007, and served as president in 2009.

IAAO will note a first in 2025, 50 years after Brunner was president, with females serving back-to-back as president with President-Elect/Treasurer Donna VanderVries, CAE, AAS, PPS, Esq., following Rebecca Malmquist, CAE.

