Certificate of Excellence in Assessment Administration


IAAO recognizes governmental units and individuals involved with assessment that integrate best practices in the workplace. This challenging and rigorous program is a self-conducted evaluation of specific, accepted, assessment administration and appraisal practices as defined in the IAAO publication Assessment Practices: Self-Evaluation Guide. Interested jurisdictions should review all of the materials below and direct questions to excellence@iaao.org.

Important note: Work towards earning the certificate should not begin until after application is made to the program. All necessary materials, including the Assessment Practices: Self-Evaluation Guide, are sent electronically to the jurisdiction upon submission of the application fee.

General Procedures 
Promotional Brochure 
Frequently Asked Questions 
Excellence Recognized Is Excellence Realized (Fair & Equitable article)
No Jurisdiction Left Behind  (Fair & Equitable article)

Congratulations to the entire staff of the following assessment offices on the achievement of the IAAO Certificate of Excellence in Assessment Administration!

Hillsborough County, Florida (2014)
City of Portsmouth, Virginia (2014)
Harris County Appraisal District, Texas (2014)
Thurston County, Washington (2014)
City of Regina, Saskatchewan Canada (2013)
Carteret County, North Carolina (2013)
Wichita Central Appraisal District, Texas (2013)
Williamson Central Appraisal District, Texas (2013)
Dallas Central Appraisal District, Texas (2013)
City of Alexandria, Virginia (2012)
Washington County, Arkansas (2012)
Ada County, Idaho (2012)
Sarasota County, Florida (2012)
Davidson County, Tennessee (2012)
El Paso Central Appraisal District, Texas (2012)
Taylor Central Appraisal District, Texas (2012)
Orange County, Florida (2012)
Leon County, Florida (2012)
City of Hampton, Virginia (2011)
Pinellas County, Florida (2011)
Clay County, Florida (2011)
Osceola County, Florida (2010)
Manatee County, Florida (2008)
King County, Washington (2008, 2014)
Lee County, Florida (2008)
Johnson County, Kansas (2005, 2011)
Seminole County, Florida (2005, 2012)
Alachua County, Florida (2004, 2010)

More than ever, IAAO is encouraging its members to integrate best practices into the workplace. We are confident that the example set by these offices will inspire others to pursue a documented program of excellence in assessment administration.